Two... yes, two
World Heritage Sites

Allerdale is well connected to its history and culture, boasting not one, but two World Heritage Sites.

The Lake District National Park is known and loved by many. But what you may not know is that much of it is in Allerdale. This  includes Keswick and Caldbeck, as well as some of the world’s most beautiful lakes. They include Derwent Water, Bassenthwaite, Buttermere, Crummock Water, Loweswater and Thirlmere, as well as the magnificent fells and places in between.

Allerdale includes the start of the Hadrian’s Wall Trail in Bowness-on-Solway. A series of  exceptional artefacts from the wall can be seen on display at the Senhouse Roman Museum in Maryport. The Hadrian’s Wall Cycleway also passes through our area and is a  starting point for exploring undiscovered parts of Allerdale by bicycle.

Castlerigg Stone Circle Allerdale Lake District
Castle Rigg stone circle in Allerdale

Lake District World Heritage

On the 10th July 2017, the Lake District received UNESCO World Heritage Site status. It joins the Taj Mahal, the Tower of London and the Great Barrier Reef on the UNESCO list. We welcome you to join us to celebrate this achievement and visit the UK’s largest World Heritage Site.

The Lake District joined Hadrian’s Wall to become the second World Heritage Site in Allerdale. We’re an ideal destination if you are interested in culture, history and conservation.

Hadrians Wall in Allerdale
Hadrians Wall Allerdale

Hadrian’s Wall World Heritage

The World Heritage Site stretches from Ravenglass Roman Bath House across into Northumberland ending in Wallsend. It was built between 122 and 128 AD and is 150 miles long.

2017 marked 30 years since the inscription of Hadrian’s Wall as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It shares an anniversary with globally recognised places such as the Great Wall of China, Killimanjaro National Park and Westminster Abbey.

In 2005 Hadrian’s Wall became part of a much larger, much more ambitious, ‘transnational’ World Heritage Site as the German Limes were added, followed by the Antonine Wall in 2008, to create the Frontiers of the Roman Empire (FRE).

In the second century AD, the Roman Frontiers encompassed much of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. It is hoped that other stretches of FRE will be inscribed by UNESCO to the ‘transnational’ site, eventually making the FRE one of the largest World Heritage Sites of all.